Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Voters choose newcomers and incumbents alike

Overall, voters didn’t appear to be significantly disgruntled with the status quo at Tuesday’s Consolidated Election, as they cast their ballots for newcomers and incumbents alike.

Oregon voters ousted one incumbent, and voted in two each of newcomers and incumbents in a city council race separated by only 61 votes.

Voters favored the newcomers somewhat, however, giving Timothy Krug 260 votes and Melanie Cozzi 258.

Incumbents Kurt Wilson and Terry Schuster were re-elected with 209 and 231 votes respectively.

Long-time commissioner Tom Izer was defeated, earning just 199 votes in his bid for another four-year term.

Mayor Ken Williams garnered 244 votes in his unchallenged bid for election to a second term.

Three incumbents were re-elected to the Oregon Park District Board.

Mark Tremble was the top vote-getter with 451, Stephen Pennock received 374, and Scott Stephens received 364. Challenger Wes Sosa was unsuccessful, garnering 303 votes.

In Forreston, two incumbents and one newcomer were elected to the village board from a field of six candidates.

Newcomer Monty Cotter was the top vote-getter with 137. Incumbents Ken Vinnedge and Gary Buss received 127 and 94 votes respectively.

They defeated newcomers Mark Schweertman with 75 votes, Don Cook with 46, and Bill Freeman with 18.

For the Forreston Public Library Board, Janet Cotter received 148 votes and Kimberly Brown got 92 to win six-years terms. Candidate Julie Huber was defeated with 87 votes.

Polo alderman Randy Schoon was re-elected to his seat in Ward 3 with 90 votes, defeating former alderman Cheryl Galor, who received 25 votes.

D.J. Sanders ran unopposed in Ward 1 and gained 56 votes. No candidates filed for the open seat in Ward 2.

Mt. Morris Village Board incumbents Phil Labash and Jeffrey Pennington were reelected with 269 and 262 votes, respectively, and newcomer Chris Kolling received 255. All three ran unopposed.

In a tight race for the Leaf River Village Board, two incumbents were defeated by three newcomers.

Timothy C. Morris was the top vote-getter with 38, Bradly Plock received 32, and James Green got 30, to defeat Shirley Poggioli with 25 votes and Paul Detmer with 22.

Low Voter Turnout

Turnout was just 16.7 percent overall, with one precinct, Forreston 2, reporting that less than four percent of its registered voters coming to the polls.

Ogle County Clerk Laura Cook said she was not surprised by the low turnout.

“I was predicting 17 percent,” she said. “I think many people don’t even know about these elections because they don’t get the media attention that some of the others get. However, this is one of the most important elections because it affects you directly as a person and your tax dollars.”

Election tabulation went smoothly, Cook said, with at 52 precincts counted and results posted by 9 p.m.