Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Polo Cub Scouts compete in Pinewood Derby

Cub Scouts from Pack 337 competed in the annual Pinewood Derby Jan. 28 at the Faith United Methodist Church.

All five dens competed in some close and friendly competition while parents, grandparents, and siblings watched attentively.

The test and tune of the cars went from 9 to 11 a.m., and racing began promptly at 1 p.m.

Members of the Polo Lions Club were also in attendance, John Deuth, Paul Wiemken, Jim Adams and Kelly Stephens, and they were in charge of overseeing the racing and judging the derby car design competition.

The Lions also made a generous donation of $300 to the pack to support their scouting activities.

Trophies were given to the top three finishers in each den.

The Tiger Den tore out of the pits first, and the top three spots (first to third) were: Kamden Sheaffer, Landon Graden and DJ McCoy.

Next was the Wolf Den, laying a patch of rubber, with first to third finishes as follows: Henry Donaldson, Austin Gebel and Jayden Otten.

The Bear Den was next to hit the track and first to third finishes were: Joey Rowland, Carson Coffman and Noah Yingling.

The Webelos Den fired up their cars next and finished first to third as follows: Gage Zeigler, Caleb Sutton and Jeffrey Donaldson.

The Arrow of Light Den performed their hole shots last and finished first to third as follows: Ben Ryan, Dawson Drexler and Alex Albano.

The top finishers from each den then competed in the Fastest of the Pack race.

The winner was determined with the fastest average time after four heats.

In one of the closest races in track history, Gage Zeigler won with an average time of 2:5730 seconds at 151.6 mph. Ben Ryan was second at 2:5740 seconds at 151.5 mph, a difference of .001

Joey Rowland was a close third at 2.5843 seconds at 150.9 mph.

The best car designs were also judged by the Polo Lions Club.

The winners from each den were as follows: D.J. McCoy (Tigers), Robbie Harazin (Wolves), Noah Yingling (Bears), Jeffrey Donaldson (Webelos) and Gage Lagee (Arrow of Light).

Metals were given for three other categories and the winners were as follows: Most Patriotic – Cole Chestnut, Scoutiest – Dusty Kohlberg, and Polo Pride – Gage Zeigler.

The top two finishers in each den will move on to compete in the Blackhawk Area Council Pinewood Derby held on April 9 at Pecatonica High School.

Loading more