Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Ogle County tax bills sent last week

By now most property owners in Ogle County have already received their real estate tax bill.

Ogle County Treasurer & Collector John Coffman said the more than 29,300 tax bills were mailed from Oregon on May 6.

Taxes collected this year will total $119,336,000, approximately $900,000 more than last year, he said.

The total reflects the amount due to all the governing bodies that draw real estate tax revenue from property in the county.

The increase is likely due to several factors, Coffman said.

"I haven't fully analyzed it yet," he said Monday. "Farmland is up 10 percent, and some levies are up."

Part of the overall increase is due to industrial growth at Rochelle and some can be attributed to a higher assessment at Exelon's Byron Generating Station, Coffman said.

However, he said, the assessments of many residential properties decreased this year.

The Ogle County Board of Review set the assessment of the nuclear plant at $509 million for 2013, $10 million more than the previous year.

This year's tax bills are based on the 2013 assessments.

Taxes are payable in two installments.

Coffman said the first installment will be due on June 13, with the second installment due on Sept. 5. 

"This single document will contain tax information and payment coupons for both installments," he said. "Therefore, property owners need to save this bill as no additional notice will be mailed prior to the second installment."

Payment methods include cash or check (payable to Ogle County Collector). 

In-person payments can be made at the treasurer's office or at any bank in Ogle County.

The treasurer’s office is in the Ogle County Courthouse, 105 S. Fifth St., Oregon.  

Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday excluding holidays.  

Payments can be mailed to Ogle County Collector, P.O. Box 40, Oregon, IL 61061.  Mailed payments must be postmarked by the due date to be considered timely.  

Late payments will incur a fee of 1.5 percent per month or part of a month after the due date and must be remitted by mail or at the collector’s office.

Taxes can also be paid by credit card via the Illinois State Treasurer’s E-Pay program. Most major credit cards are accepted.

Get to the site by going to  and clicking on the E-Pay link or and going to the Treasurer’s page.

The E-Pay site can also be directly accessed at

Then enter Ogle County in the search box, and click the search button.  

Next click the link to the Ogle County Treasurer. 

Click the tax payment link located near the bottom of the page. Fill in the information as prompted.  

Then receive a payment confirmation number.  

This service carries a fee; consult the convenience fee schedule prior to making payment.

Loading more