Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Zuniga receives award from Eureka College

An Oregon High School senior is one of six incoming freshmen to be selected as a Reagan Fellows in the Ronald W. Reagan Leadership Program at Eureka College.

The award, based on leadership, service and academic excellence, includes a full-tuition scholarship over four years and global travel and professional mentorship opportunities.

The students were selected from a field of 90 semifinalists in a competition held on campus in February.

Sarah Zuniga, daughter of Jose Zuniga and Debra Zuniga, both of Oregon, is editor of the yearbook, president of the Poetry Slam committee and a member of the Principal-Student Advisory Council.

She is also a member of the concert and marching bands, madrigals, musical theater productions and National Honor Society. She was a scorekeeper/manager for the girls’ basketball team and also a correspondent for the Oregon Republican Reporter newspaper and an activity director at a local dude ranch.

Zuniga plans to major in sociology and psychology.

“We are extremely pleased to welcome these six Reagan Fellows to this distinguished leadership program,” said Eureka College President J. David Arnold in a news release. “All of them have superb records to date in learning, service and leadership. Their futures are bright, and we are delighted that they chose Eureka as their special place to flourish during their college years.”

Besides receiving full tuition, Reagan Fellows participate in workshops and retreats throughout the school year. During the summers of their sophomore and junior years, Reagan Fellows have mentorships with leaders in their field within the United States and abroad. The program pays for travel and living expenses for the mentorships.

The Reagan Leadership Program is in its 31st year. The program is named for Ronald W. Reagan, 40th president of the United States and a 1932 graduate of Eureka College.

Others also receiving the award are:

Matthew Caldwell, Gurnee; Ellé LeClaire, Peotone; Robert “Bobby” Mathius, Tinley Park; Johnny Tran, Houston, Texas; and Trever Zeibert, Monee.

Loading more