Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Primary election is Tuesday, March 18

Voters will have a choice of candidates for only two Ogle County posts in the March 18 primary election.

The only contested races are for sheriff and state's attorney.

Three Republican candidates are seeking for their party's nomination for Ogle County Sheriff. 

Sheriff Michael Harn, Forreston, is being challenged by Brian E. Van Vickle and Joe Drought,  both of Rochelle. All three are currently law enforcement officers.

State's attorney Michael Rock, Byron, faces opposition from Oregon attorney Eric Morrow, for the Republican Party nomination for state's attorney.

County clerk Rebecca Huntley, Chana, and treasurer John Coffman, Polo, also both Republicans, are running unopposed for re-election to their current posts.

Also seeking the Republican nomination for the Lee, Ogle, and Whiteside Regional Superintendent of Schools is Robert Sondgeroth. 

On the Ogle County Board, all races are uncontested and all but one of the candidates are Republicans.

Current board member Kimberly Kirkolis, Davis Junction, who was elected to her first term in 2012, is not seeking another term in District 1, which includes Dement, Lynnville, Monroe, and Scott Townships.

Instead J. Nick Bolin, Holcomb, is seeking the party nomination.

Incumbent Patricia Nordman, Oregon, is the sole candidate in District 2, which includes White Rock, Pine Rock, Lafayette, and Oregon-Nashua Townships.

Veteran board member Bobbie Colbert, Rochelle, the only Democrat running for a county post, is seeking re-election in District 3, which includes Flagg Township, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7.

Incumbent Bruce W. McKinney, Rochelle, is running in District 4, which includes Flagg Township, Precincts 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, and 11.

Richard Daniel Janes, Stillman Valley, is seeking another term on the board in District 5, which includes Marion, Rockvale, and Leaf River Townships.

In District 6, which includes Byron Township, incumbent Leroy Meyers, Byron, is on the ballot.

Incumbent Rich Gronewold, Forreston, is seeking another term in District 7, which includes Maryland, Mt. Morris, and Forreston Townships.

Longtime board member Lyle Hopkins is running in District 8, which includes Brookville, Lincoln, Eagle Point, Buffalo, Pine Creek, Woosung, Grand Detour, and Taylor Townships.

All terms are four years in length.

The configuration of the county board changed in 2012 after board districts were reapportioned following the the 2010 census.

The county board candidates running in 2014 drew two-year terms.

The population shifts indicated by the census meant increasing county board districts from four to eight. Consequently, some board members elected in 2012 drew two-year terms, while other drew four-year terms.

Each district is represented by three county board members.

Other seats on the ballot are U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, Second District Appellate Judge, Illinois Governor and Lieutenant Governor, Illinois Secretary of State, Illinois Comptroller, Illinois Treasurer, State Senators, and Representatives to the Illinois General Assembly.

Candidates successful in the March primary will be on the ballot for the Nov. 4 General Election.

The only referendum on the ballot in the county is in Stillman Valley, where village officials are seeking a one percent sales tax hike which will be used to fund public infrastructure improvements. 

The polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day. For election results go to

Loading more