Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

Thirteen OHS students named Illinois State Scholars

Oregon High School seniors who were recently named Illinois State Scholars were recognized and presented with certificates during halftime of the boy's varsity basketball game on Jan. 11.

Seniors receiving the honor were Kristina Buschek, Shelby Hunter, Joseph Janke, Jacob Kleveland, Thomas McCormick, Joseph Messenger, Ryan Miranda, Grace Nelson, Garrett Newman, Kayla Powell, Mark Schmidt, Brandon Sklavanitis, and Kathryn Speck.

The State Scholar Program, sponsored through the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), recognizes high school seniors for outstanding academic achievement.

ISAC, a state agency, has paved the path to post-secondary education with innovative programs for more than 50 years, providing students with resources and support to obtain financial aid for higher education.
More than a half million Illinois State Scholars have been recognized by ISAC since the program's inception.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors.

Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year.

No monetary award is connected with this recognition, but State Scholars are found in universities across the country, recognized for their achievement in high school and their promise for a successful post-secondary future.

Loading more