Subscribe to the Oregon Republican Reporter, Mt Morris Times, Tri-County Press and Forreston Journal

16 OHS students inducted into National Honor Society

Sixteen new members were inducted into the Oregon High School chapter of the National Honor Society on Nov. 6. The ceremony was held at the Oregon Coliseum.

Guests were entertained by Rebecca Eden and her music teacher Jennifer Peterson playing classical music on their violins.

The guest speaker John Barnhart, Oregon Citizen of the Year, talked about the importance of volunteering in the community.

New members included Tyler Blume, Emma Crandall, Kelci Foss, Gerald Gehrke, Olivia Gorzny, Daniel Grimm, Alexis Howey, Kimberly Janke, Trevor Lee, Kasia Majewski, Sarah Mattus, Sarah Melvin, Trevor Nelson, Angela Nordman, Jennifer Rogers, and Sarah Zuniga.

They were inducted after a candle lighting ceremony and committing their pledge to the society.

Current members Kendal Anderson, Kristina Buschek, Kaitlin Cyrier, Colby Dace, Rebecca Eden, Nathan Egan, Alyssa Fischer, Chloe Gale, Danielle Horst, Shelby Hunter, Jacob Kleveland, Thomas McCormick, Joseph Messenger, Caleb Mowry, Grace Nelson, Garrett Newman, Danielle Osbourne, Brandon Sklavanitis, Kathryn Speck, Ryan Starkey, and Amber Tucker were also in attendance.

After the ceremony guests were invited to enjoy refreshments, provided by Sandi Stuart, Oregon.

"It is truly a privilege to work with such an awesome group of kids," said National Honor Society advisor Dyan Mowry. "Their commitment to bettering our society and our school amazes me."

National Honor Society is an elite group of juniors and seniors who have attained a 3.60 grade point average, shown leadership within their school, church, or community, and volunteered countless hours of service.

Loading more